Core Team

The 2020 Core Team functions as a “backbone organization” that plays three primary roles in the collective design of the 2020 Plan. Importantly, 2020 does not operate programs that serve the poor. Rather, we support the network of service providers who are moving the poverty needle. 

The vision is guided by a steering group of board members and advisors. It is staffed by a team of specialized contractors. 

Steering Group 

  • Gypsy C. Gallardo, CEO, The 2020 Plan 

  • Harvey Landress, Co-Chair, 2020 Taskforce and retired Organizational Development Director, R’Club Child Care 

  • Carolyn King, Co-Chair, 2020 Taskforce and Executive Director, Pinellas Opportunity Council 

  • Rev. Louis Murphy, Sr., Senior Pastor, Mt Zion Progressive Missionary Baptist Church 

  • Charlotte Anderson, VP, Pinellas County Urban League 

  • Lounell Britt, Retired Executive Director, Sanderlin Center 

  • Watson Haynes, II, CEO, Pinellas County Urban League 

  • Michael Jalazo, CEO, Pinellas Ex-Offender Re-Entry Coalition 

  • Loretta Monroe Calvin, CEO, Monroe Strategic Business Solutions [Chair of 2020’s Impact St Pete initiative] 

  • Karl Nurse, Former St. Petersburg City Councilman [Chair, 2020 Financial Reinvestment Council] 

Staff Team in 2018 

  • Lorene Gregory, Director, Impact St. Pete Project

  • Attorney Tamara Felton, Director, CBA Policy Project 

  • Subrenia Ferguson, Administrative Coordinator 

  • Deborah Figgs-Sanders, Special Projects Director 

  • Deacon Will Johnson, Photographer & Videographer 

  • Tiffany Moore, Work Groups Event Coordinator 

  • Cory Outlaw, Marketing Coordinator 

  • Mamie Slaughter, Data Coordinator 

  • Marilyn Turman, Community Engagement Coordinator